Skip to content

Modules, Extensions & Components…oh MY!

September 16, 2009

Most Important

I am trying to shave down my ‘wish list’ by importance according to my site outline.

  1. Gallery – Slideshow – for hair styles by stylists, possibly add a product gallery later. Considering Image Flow.Simple Image Gallery, there is another gallery I found a year ago, and still looking for it. It uses Flash – had 9 free views, I did find this Flash slideshow XML Slideshow and another Creative Clans with its Clan documentation – this last one is looking for someone to help design free borders for images, and ALSO mentioned that out of 11,000 downloads, only 2 made a donation! Found the one I want! Pro IMage Flow – $20, but probably worth it. I see this company also has some rotating image modules for a small fee.Carousel slideshow
  2. Tips – RSS feed Slick, or Simple RSS Feeds– for several options (makeup tips, hair style tips, pedicure tips, product lines carried, possibly more)
  3. Forms – Extensions feedback, product request, gift certificate (later if google checkout enabled) List of form Extensions. Still not satisfied with these, but looking at a low cost which has a Plug-In for google analytics; another google analytic means to be included in a form using an idea I have yet to check into – both quick tutorial and Jumi.
  4. Log in form module for stylists to upload changes to their personal information an photo’s Tutorial (enable?)
  5. Component poll for user input on products/services

Wish List

If there is still time, I would like to add:

I did stumble on a security find, while reading my RSS feeds. This is an interesting ‘test drive’ article about a Joomla Security Extension called SecureLive. I am really loving the fact that my Delicious tags are keeping up with my blog! This is a new feature for me, and I don’t know how I ever lived without this and the RSS reader program Feedreader! I feel as though my teacher, Elaine is turning me into a ‘toolbox diva’!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 10:22 am

    Two thoughts: I love the idea of an RSS feed of tips that gets updated! That is the kind of content that will really get this site attention. It is also the most difficult to pull off because it requires someone writing a tip every week or so, but if someone is willing to do it then this is a winning idea.

    Second, if you use Google calendar to embed in your site, it is very easy to configure. You could easily get it up and running in 30 minutes, tops, and then it would just be a matter of adding dates to the calendar.

    Looks great!

Trackbacks

  1. Default Modules and Components « Nancy's Notes – Joomla

Leave a Reply

