Skip to content

Editing a template banner

September 11, 2009

Finding the Pieces

I was able to use the outline feature of Firebug and the view of my template in Filezip to find the images I wanted to recolor in Photoshop. There are many pieces to this banner! I am trying to use my localhost program of the template to make the changes, but ….all the kings horses and all the kings men….couldn’t put this template together again! I saved the pieces on my computer in the template images file – where most of them are in the original template. I am so glad that I have a localhost to play with, so that I can keep from really messing up! The internet doesn’t have much of an ‘undo’ as Firebug and Photoshop do. I cannot believe that it has taken me all day, first playing with colors, and now a bit defeated, since I don’t seem to be plugging the new image files in the right Joomla template area’s. I thought it was just a matter of calling the different image file from the template/images file….tomorrow has got to be a better day! The good news is that I was able to darken the main image, and I still need to find either some free stock tehachapi mountain images that read ‘peaceful image’, or keep working with this green machine.

Not Much To See Yet

So far, I have uploaded my Joomla template to the server – but I did this before watching the first part of last night’s demonstration, so I want to check that out and compare notes. My site, so far, is at Nancy’s Class Project website! (will open up in another window). I also want to check this Joomla ‘beez’ tutorial some more about changing the ‘beez’ header, and scour the lynda course again – this time with a purpose!

I worked on the logo a bit – cheated with scissors already in PhotoShop CS3>Shapes. I am wondering if my work will be ditched in lieu of finding another photo – but just ‘winging it’ now, trying to make this work. Here is the reworked banner part – still not on the server while I figure that part out. I was kind of thinking of a blurb for the right green area overlay (scroll down this page to see the full original template), ‘A Cut Above’ (thinking of the Christian theme) or “A Cut Above the rest’.

Darkened the original template banner with PURPLE overlay in PS

Darkened the original template banner with PURPLE overlay in PS


I am starting to think that my scissors are looking more like garden shears….aimed at the weeds. ARRGGG!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 10:16 pm

    I am starting to think that my scissors are looking more like garden shears….aimed at the weeds. ARRGGG!

    LOL!! When I saw that, I immediately saw the grass as green hair! Yeah, you may want to stay away from shears in your “peaceful” header. However, it would make a great decorative element for your text!

Leave a Reply

