Skip to content

OK….stop decorating!

September 9, 2009

I couldn’t resist finding a template to play with each of my localhost CMS’s….at least I got that far with Drupal and WordPress, and it is time to post my salon template for Joomla on the internet. I would like to be able to do the same with some more subdomains, but will wait for the Thursday class before doing that. This should give me some experience transferring sites from one place to another….or it could be a big mess! I am really content looking on the internet for templates, and could probably spend another month doing that. I have yet to play with firebug, and change the css…but that is all in this week as well. I have a lot of reading to do…several websites to go through….and all I REALLY want to do is play with template searches, sheesh!

I am also using an online source for card sorting,WebSort to help me see how folks will look for content. I have some survey’s from the customers….not many, but most want an easy site to use. I have a lot of work to do on this, and have tried working with boxes and arrows to outline a joomla site last summer. It helped me to see these in that format, but it did take awhile to realize that the boxes and lines are easy to make in MS Word – it just takes time.

WordPress Localhost:

wpLocalhostNotes

Drupal Localhost:

drupalLocal2

5 Comments leave one →
  1. solidbluedesigns permalink
    September 13, 2009 2:32 pm

    Nancy,

    I really like your decorating. Usually when I design a site I take a pre-configured template and manipulate it to be what I want. For this class I am going to design from the ground up. Which might be messy and take time, but I think it will be an accomplishment. I found something I like (which I posted on my blog) and I am going to go from there.

    • nancy13joomla permalink*
      September 13, 2009 3:42 pm

      Thanks, Phil—these are ready made templates, too! I have been licking my design wounds since last summer….for class the client wanted purple high tech look, and I went for this robocop metallic purple look, that a hospital really wouldn’t use…..I felt so bad! I hate having 15 design ideas and trying to put it into one concept. I really found it comforting to know you usually take things and tweak them! I am anxious to see what you do from ground up!

  2. September 16, 2009 9:40 pm

    Template searching, trying on, and editing is very addictive, but a great way to learn. I think your Drupal site looks great!

    Tell me, what do you use WebSort for? I’m not sure I understand what “cards” are. Looks interesting.

    • nancy13joomla permalink*
      September 17, 2009 9:44 am

      Thanks, Elaine! WebSort is for customer card sorting…UI….however, I find it helps me play scenarios. I list all of the things I want (pages & forms for instance), then drag and drop them into the middle screen into groups of pages/forms/link ideas. These groups then can be named – I can add a header for each group (as a primary nav). Just like card sorting, only using the computer instead of index cards. I have yet to be able to describe this well to anyone – including my Web Proj. Mgmt class last summer – the makeover for an existing site needed a complete IA makeover, and this program helped me more than it did anyone else in the group.
      For this salon project, I already had some things in mind on paper and using websort, but found myself switching things around again when it came time to draw the boxes and arrows. WebSort lets you move things around…and if used for its intended use, you can graph out the results from many people. There is a demo of the process (interactive) and the results (interactive).

      • September 17, 2009 10:02 am

        I am going to have to try it! It sounds really cool; maybe something to integrate with next year’s class.

Leave a Reply

